Karnataka Chief Minister Hd Kumaraswamy wins floor test | BJP walks out of the house

Cm of Karnataka

Karnataka Chief Minister won the floor test today in state assembly. After 10 days of political drama, the congress- JDS coalition declared HD Kumaraswamy as its chief minister. Congress leader G Parameshwara holds the post of Deputy CM. Before the vote of confidence, Congress leader Ramesh Kumar was elected unanimously for the post of the Speaker.
Following the May 12 polls, Congress won 78 seats out of the 222 seats whereas JDS had won 37 seats. BJP emerged as the single largest party in the recently conducted state election with 104 seats, merely eight seats short of a simple majority. One each was won by the Bahujan Samaj Party, the Karnataka Pragnyavantha Janatha Party and an Independent. The political situation took a dramatic turn when YS Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the chief minister on May 17. But he resigned after failing to get the requisite number before the floor test in the state assembly.
To prevent BJP from forming a government in yet another state, Congress and JDS formed a coalition to form a government. The congress-JDS coalition’s candidate HD Kumaraswamy won the floor test two days after he was sworn in as the new chief minister. While the Congress has maintained its stance on not rocking the coalition boat, the grand old party’s MLAs want the high command to try to get a bigger share in the cabinet. They are urging the high command to claim it on the basis of being the bigger party in the coalition.
Congress workers are also demanding that HD Kumaraswamy steps down after completing half of his tenure and a Congress member is then elected as the chief minister for the remaining half tenure. But HD Kumaraswamy has flatly refused to entertain any such splitting of chief ministerialship with its coalition partner.
Pm Modi accepts challenge of Virat Kohli: Click here
Why Princess Markle is the new obsession : Click here